NaPoWriMo day 14

Passage Over Water by Robert Duncan

I spent years on Passage Over Water
picking apart its rhythms. I read it aloud
and heard I was speaking a new language.
The way my mouth moved was similar
to how it moves when I am kissing you.
Does the symbolism mean anything? I am
writing an essay on us. Cross-referencing us
with the poem. I study the history of your
geographies and give my hours to your
meter, a passage over water, in its own
language, and after years of study
I worked it out: it is poetry. Very good
poetry. With you, I am happy. Very happy.

Leave a Reply

